the shuffle, the old vinyl

My music is nearly always “all,” always shuffle.  It’s a happy mixtape.  I’ve got the newly arrived, the old standbys, and the medium range, the ones played maybe only ten times rather than a thousand.  I’m a junkie with more music than I’ve played; I find no shame in the used, no need to have 2007 over 2002 or 1958–it’s all the same to me.  I’ll play the cheesiest balladic C & W next to dancehall techno next to rap next to mariachi next to French air next to African jazz and if I play it any other way I get a little bored.  Certain moods demand full albums, but I rarely make my way through them now.  It has to be great, really great, to sustain the sustained play.  And look, I’m fifty years old, and I’m obsessed with the sheer opportunity, the explosion of sound.  You have no idea how limited it once was, unless you are as old as I.I have my vinyl.  I love my vinyl.  I pull out the album covers, stare at Patti Smith in her boy pose,images-1.jpegimages-1.jpeg at Elvis Costello all joint-splayed like album in yellow and black, images-2.jpegimages-2.jpegI love the tone of vinyl, I even love the scratch.  But since I moved a year ago, I have not set up my stereo.  My turntable went the way of old things, into the sad trash.  I miss it, but not enough to actually find a place for it. Oh, those old days of playing Wall of Voodoo or Blondie or the Sex Pistols over and over, catching every note, absorbing the very inflection of the words, then going out to hear cover versions done by angry bands who would’ve stuck pins in their noses if they hadn’t thought it would hurt too much.  I knew the music then.images-3.jpegNow I let it wash over, occasionally slipping in to catch me up and show me some new span.  The spikey bango and guitar interplay of Jake Schepps on “Todo Buenos Aires” is what’s on right now,images-5.jpeg a sound that’s like hillbilly sucked through salsa hesitations.   I never knew it until I pulled up a compilation CD that came with an issue of, I think, Songlines magazine.  Turns out this guy Jake Schepps is a singular composer that lives in Boulder, Colorado, only 30 minutes away.  So here’s the amazing interplay that leads me to go out and find the group’s new CD Ten Thousand Leaves.  In my album days, when I was more broke and with less access (Springfield, Illinois and an Appletree record store), this most likely would never have happened–I would never have found it–it would be lost to me.  Now what’s playing? — The Kinks’ Village Green Preservation Societyimages-4.jpeg–music that completely escaped me when it first came out–so sweet, going “I miss the village green, all the simple people….”  This is truly a concept album, one best played in whole, but I’ve now gone on to Silvio Rodriguez singing in a language I don’t understand and don’t really worry about not understanding…. I swap CDs on lala.com or swapacd.com, eschewing the random downloading of Limewire and such, which are truly samplings, usually flawed ones, buggy and distorted and, for me anyway, anxiety-producing.  I’m too paranoid to allow myself that much access, which always feels like it lets in the malevolent outside world that can fuck up my computer if it wishes or even arrest me….Anyway, I like the artifact of the CD itself, and I like giving away the CDs after I use them–it’s a bargaining, an exchange, that seems a little cleaner than the file swapping of the virtual world.  Yet without the internet I would not be able to find all of that music off the CD swap programs, and I would not be able to post this post.  So my final thought here: hooray for the swap, hooray for the shuffle, the World belongs to me. mexican radio

Leave a Reply

